Log in


Better Together: Striving for Inclusive and Connected Advising in a Transforming Landscape

May 21, 2021 | 9:00am - 4:00pm

Registration    |    Schedule    |    Keynote


The 2021 Virtual MIACADA Conference Co-Chairs are excited to "welcome" you! Registration for this year's conference is $20 and you must be an active (paid) MIACADA member to register. Become a member here!

Registration closes May 19, 2021.

Note: If you registered and paid for the 2020 conference, you should have received an email with information on how to get a refund on January 27th.  If you didn’t or have questions, please contact MIACADA Treasurer Emily Reetz at esr317@hotmail.com.


Over the past year, the advising landscape has transformed due to the ongoing pandemic. At the same time, the importance of diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) has culminated to a critical tipping point. This conference aims to address issues of DEI in the context of the ever-changing advising environment. We will explore best practices, innovative solutions, and new outlooks in our profession all for the betterment of our students. Proposals are encouraged, but are not limited, to include at least one of the following topics: 

    1. How did you keep DEI in the forefront of your advising practices as the pandemic transformed (and continues to transform) the advising landscape?
    2. How did you continuously improve advising services to students as the pandemic transformed the landscape while keeping DEI in mind?
    3. What were some best advising practices or innovative services that your institution tried to keep, but adapted to the virtual landscape?
    4. How did you overcome challenges of accessibility, connectivity and outreach to all populations while adapting your practices for the safety of everyone? 

Proposals most closely aligned with these topics will be given preference. Plan for a 50-minute session. Presenters must register for the conference and be a current MIACADA member.

Proposal submission deadline is Monday, March 15, 2021. Submissions will need to provide:

  • Presentation title
  • 250-word Session Abstract/Narrative (include details on session format)
  • 75-word Short Description/Summary for Program
  • Three key take-aways from your session
  • Name of Presenters (email address, title and institution)

*Presenters are expected to be subject matter experts.

Please address any questions to Stefanie Janes (sjanes@ltu.edu) and Apryl Scheffler-Martin (aascheffler@wccnet.edu).


9:00am - 9:25am  Welcome/Opening Remarks 

9:30am - 10:30am Keynote

10:40am - 11:30am  Breakout Sessions 1

11:40am - 12:00pm  Optional Wellness Activity

12:00pm - 1:00pm Break 

1:00pm - 1:50pm  Breakout Sessions 2

2:00pm - 2:50pm Breakout Sessions 3 

3:00pm - 3:50pm  Breakout Sessions 4 

KEYNOTE SPEAKER | John Parker-Der Boghossian

John Parker-Der Boghossian is a diversity, equity, and inclusion expert working in higher education and health and human services. As the former Chief Diversity Officer of Saint Paul College, and Equity and Inclusion Education Manager for Rainbow Health Initiative, John has worked with three of the five biggest health systems in the state of Minnesota. He creates diversity training’s, assesses organizations for equity and inclusion efforts, and recommends policies to advance an organization’s equity and inclusion goals. An in-demand public speaker, John has presented at health and education conferences throughout Minnesota, Wisconsin, and North Dakota on topics including: implicit bias, health equity, Intersectionality, LGBTQ health, and intercultural competence. He is a qualified administrator of the Intercultural Development Inventory, the premier assessment tool used internationally to assess and develop intercultural competence. He is a commissioner on the St. Paul/Ramsey County Food & Nutrition Commission. He serves as Vice-President of the Armenian Cultural Organization of Minnesota and also serves on the board of the Minnesota Peacebuilding Leadership Institute. He holds a Master of Public Affairs degree from the University of Minnesota.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software