Log in

The 2020 MIACADA Awards season is officially open!

Nominations for awards will be accepted through April 1, 2020.

Information on the 2020 MIACADA Advising Awards Program can be found here.

To apply for any of the 2020 MIACADA Academic Advising Awards, use this form.

To apply for for the 2020 MIACADA Pacesetter Award, use this form.

Annually, MIACADA recognizes outstanding advising in the State of Michigan. The individuals chosen shown their success as an advisor through their:

      • Strong interpersonal skills
      • Availability to advisees, faculty, or staff
      • Frequency of contact with advisees
      • Appropriate referral activity
      • Use and dissemination of appropriate information sources
      • Evidence of student success rate, by advisor or department
      • Caring, helpful attitude toward advisees, faculty, and staff
      • Meeting advisees in informal settings
      • Participation in and support of intrusive advising to build strong relationships with advisees
      • Monitoring of student progress toward academic and career goals
      • Mastery of institutional regulations, policies, and procedures
      • Ability to engage in, promote, and support developmental advising
      • Evidence of administering an academic advising program that supports NACADA's Core Values
      • Evidence that the advising program reflects the standards of good practice in the CAS Standards and Guidelines for Academic Advising
      • Participation in and support of advisor development programs
      • Perception by colleagues of nominee's advising or advising administration skills


Advising Award Winners-Advisor Primary Role (Established 2009)

 Year Name Institution
 2019 Erin Yanke Henry Ford College
 2018 Tamarie Willis Wayne State University
 2017 Debra Wheeler Oakland University
 2016 Sherry Spencer Eastern Michigan University
 2015 Laurie Shano Oakland University
 2014 Amy Tratt Michigan State University
 2013 Angela Caruso Grand Valley State University
 2012 Felipe Lopez Sustaita Lansing Community College
 2011 Anne M. London Grand Valley State University
 2011 Donna LM Malaski Oakland University
 2010 Thea Brophy Calvin College
 2010 Betty Sanford Michigan State University
 2010 Carmen Etienne Oakland University
 2009 Marilyn Kritzman Western Michigan University

Advising Award Winners-Faculty Advisor (Established 2009)

 Year  Name  Institution
 2018  Bradley Isler  Ferris State University
 2017  Paula Dronen  Andrews University
 2009  Christine Yalda  Grand Valley State University

Advising Award Winners-Advising Administrator (Established 2009)

 Year  Name  Institution
 2019  Christine Robinson  Western Michigan University
 2018  Catherine Bernas  Wayne State University
 2016 Dana Hebreard Calvin College
 2015 Molly Weir Eastern Michigan University
 2012 Cheryl Kollin Wayne State University
 2009 Jennifer McCaul Grand Valley State University

Advising Award Winners-Graduate Student (Established 2009)

 Year  Name  Institution
 2018  Brook-Lynn Vij  Oakland University
 2017  Megan Coburn  Grand Valley State University
 2015 Theresa Lyon Grand Valley State University
 2014 Leah Kicinski Grand Valley State University
 2013 John Gipson Grand Valley State University
 2012 Kathryn Clark Grand Valley State University
 2011 Amy M. Burns Grand Valley State University
 2009 Lauren Long Grand Valley State University


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software