Log in
Log in

The Michigan Academic Advising Association (MIACADA) awards mini-grants to support the purchase of advising related professional development resources. Examples of previously funded professional development resources include: Books, web recordings, newspaper subscriptions, NACADA pocket guides, and webinars. 

The submission deadline is CLOSED FOR 2024.

If selected, the MIACADA mini-grant may be awarded for any amount up to $100.

  1. Priority will be given to those seeking grants to purchase NACADA materials from the NACADA Bookstore.
  2. Grants will be given in the form of a reimbursement from a receipt of purchase. Once a grant is approved, the applicant will purchase the material, and submit a receipt to the MIACADA treasurer for reimbursement. Please include shipping and tax (where applicable) as part of your grant request. MIACADA will not reimburse more than $100
  3. Grant applications are reviewed and voted on by the MIACADA Board at the annual July 2023 board meeting. Recipients will be notified no later than July 31, 2024.  The purchase must be made and the receipt submitted by August 31, 2024.
  4. Materials purchased are considered the property of the grant recipient. They do not need to be returned.
  5. MIACADA reserves the right to only allow one grant per member
  6. The number of grants awarded is variable and will be based on the financial situation of MIACADA.
(Current MIACADA Board Members are ineligible to apply.)

Click Here to Access the MIACADA Mini-Grants Submission Form 


2024 Mini Grant Awards

Name Institution
Katie Burley Michigan State University
Jennifer Wright Mid Michigan College
Richard Andersons Northern Michigan University
Ryan Stewart Blue Water Middle College
Ana Abendschein

Kalamazoo Valley Community College

Carrol Reaser ParrisWayne State University

2022 Mini Grant Awards

Name Institution
Natalie Drobny
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Shawntae Mintline
Wayne State University
Alexandra Baker
Walsh College
Amy Gill
Kalamazoo Valley Community College
Shanna Simpson-Singleton

Wayne State University

2021 Mini Grant Awards

Jazmin Williams
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Ryan Shadbolt
Michigan State University
Lauren Leve
Oakland University
Tiffany LeDonne-Smith
Oakland University
Apryl Scheffler-Martin

Kalamazoo Valley Community College

Denica Holzworth
Oakland University
Kanchan Pavangadkar
Michigan State University

2020 Mini Grant Awards

 Name Institution
 Nadia El Anani
 Jackson College
 Sarah Konrad
 Oakland University
 Lynnae Selberg
 Grand Rapids Community College
 Jaclyn Keith
 Oakland University
 Brittany Weldon
 Grand Rapids Community College

2019 Mini Grant Awards

 Name Institution
 Danielle Flores Lopez Michigan State University
 Christine Lancaster Eastern Michigan University
 Kaelee Steffens Grand Rapids Community College
 David Schrock Ferris State University
 Steve Farver Oakland University
 Katie Hannah Southwestern Michigan College

2018 Mini Grant Awards

 Name  Institution
 Julie Catanzarite  University of Michigan
 Melissa Krzyaniak  Siena Heights University
 Gary Mason  Spring Arbor College
 Shannon Hogg  Madonna University

2017 Mini Grant Awards

 Name  Institution
 Mark Robbins  University of Michigan
 Saroya Cicero  University of Michigan
 Corey Sampsel  University of Michigan
 Shantalea Johns  Wayne State University
 Robert Detwiler Siena Heights University
 Erin Busscher Grand Rapids Community College
 Lauren Creed Oakland University


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software