Log in
Log in


The 2023 MIACADA Awards nominations are now open

These awards are designed to honor individuals and institutions within Michigan making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising.

Our Goal 

The goal of the MIACADA Advising Awards Program is to encourage support and recognition for academic advising in Michigan colleges and universities by providing an opportunity for recognition of outstanding advising. MIACADA believes that good advising, like good teaching, publication, and research, should be recognized. 

Awards Deadlines 

The deadline for the receipt of nomination materials is April 7, 2023.

Awards Presentation

Awards will be presented at the 2023 MIACADA state conference held on Friday, May 5, 2023. The selection committee reserves the right to make no awards in a certain category. Preference will be given to completed application packets.



  1. Academic Advising‐Primary Role — Individuals whose primary role at the institution is the direct delivery of advising services to students.

  2. Faculty Academic Advising — Individuals whose primary responsibility is teaching but who spend a portion of their time providing academic advising services to students.

  3. Academic Advising Administrator — Individuals who may provide direct academic advising services but whose primary responsibility is as an administrator or director of an academic advising program.

  4. Graduate Student Graduate students who: demonstrate comprehensive knowledge of coursework and apply this knowledge to practice; take a leadership role and demonstrate a commitment to the advancement of the advising profession; foster student development (cognitive, career, identity, personal) through advising and strive to create effective advising partnerships with students.


  1. Any individual serving as an academic advisor or advising administrator, and a current member of MIACADA for at least 1 year. This does not apply to the faculty advisor, graduate student, or the Pacesetter nominees. 

  2. Current members of the Executive Board are not eligible for consideration for these advising awards. After the member's term of office is over, they may then be eligible for consideration.

  3. Previous award winners are not eligible for the same award. 

  4. Self‐nominations are welcome.


The Selection Committee will evaluate nominations on the evidence of qualities and practices that distinguish the nominee as an outstanding academic advisor, faculty advisor, advising administrator, graduate student, or pacesetter. Such evidence may include: 

  • Interpersonal/Human Relations Skills

  • Professional Practices/NACADA Core Values

  • Documented Success

  • Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

  • Documented Professional Development

  • Personal Advising and/or Leadership Philosophy 


Award Rubrics

Academic Advising‐Primary Role Award, Faculty Academic Advising Award, or Graduate Student Award Rubric Link

Academic Advising Administrator Award Rubric Link

Pacesetter Award Rubric Link

Submit a nomination

To submit a nomination for the Academic Advising‐Primary Role Award, Faculty Academic Advising Award, Academic Advising Administrator Award, or Graduate Student Award the following are required: 

  1. Completed online application

  2. Vita/Resume (2-page maximum)

  3. Up to 2 Letters of support

    1. 1 student support letter
    2. 1 professional support letter

  4. Nominee’s Advising and/or Leadership Philosophy (2-page maximum) - A statement that guides your practice as an advisor or advising administrator, determines goals and objectives, and forms a foundation for advisement and leadership. Resources on creating your advising philosophy

  5. Summary of the Nominee’s Qualifications (5-page maximum). This key piece should summarize the extent to which the nominee meets the award criteria. This can include quotes from students and colleagues, examples of projects and presentations, office or campus-wide initiatives, previous recognition/awards, data, or other materials illustrative of exemplary performance in the associated award category. This summary should illustrate how the nominee consistently goes beyond expected job duties to provide outstanding service in their role. 

Additional information requested above should be emailed to: 

Maya Calloway Richardson, MIACADA President Elect
Wayne State University


    Advising Award Winners-Advisor Primary Role (Established 2009)

     Year Name Institution
     2022 Cynthia Merritt
     Wayne State University
     2021 James Fortune
     Wayne State University
     2019 Erin Yanke Henry Ford College
     2018 Tamarie Willis Wayne State University
     2017 Debra Wheeler Oakland University
     2016 Sherry Spencer Eastern Michigan University
     2015 Laurie Shano Oakland University
     2014 Amy Tratt Michigan State University
     2013 Angela Caruso Grand Valley State University
     2012 Felipe Lopez Sustaita Lansing Community College
     2011 Anne M. London Grand Valley State University
     2011 Donna LM Malaski Oakland University
     2010 Thea Brophy Calvin College
     2010 Betty Sanford Michigan State University
     2010 Carmen Etienne Oakland University
     2009 Marilyn Kritzman Western Michigan University

    Advising Award Winners-Faculty Advisor (Established 2009)

     Year  Name  Institution
     2021 Maria Smith Bohannon
     Oakland University
     2018  Bradley Isler  Ferris State University
     2017  Paula Dronen  Andrews University
     2009  Christine Yalda  Grand Valley State University

    Advising Award Winners-Advising Administrator (Established 2009)

     Year  Name  Institution
     2021 Donna L.M. Malaski
     Kellogg Community College
     2019  Christine Robinson  Western Michigan University
     2018  Catherine Bernas  Wayne State University
     2016 Dana Hebreard Calvin College
     2015 Molly Weir Eastern Michigan University
     2012 Cheryl Kollin Wayne State University
     2009 Jennifer McCaul Grand Valley State University

    Advising Award Winners-Graduate Student (Established 2009)

     Year  Name  Institution
     2022 Natalie Drobny
     Michigan State University
     2018  Brook-Lynn Vij  Oakland University
     2017  Megan Coburn  Grand Valley State University
     2015 Theresa Lyon Grand Valley State University
     2014 Leah Kicinski Grand Valley State University
     2013 John Gipson Grand Valley State University
     2012 Kathryn Clark Grand Valley State University
     2011 Amy M. Burns Grand Valley State University
     2009 Lauren Long Grand Valley State University


    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software